Mistrals : IMPACTCC Spring school 2019

The spring school of the transverse action IMPACTCC from MISTRALS will take place between the 1st and 5th of April in Banyuls-sur-mer (66650). It will be about « Climate models and downscaling methods for climate change impacts studies ». During this week, participants will benefit from a theory part with courses/seminars and also practical exercices with the software R.

 

More information

Ocean acidification: consequences on ecosystems and human activities

What is ocean acidification? What are the potential consequences for economic activities? How to react? These are the questions that will be addressed during the round tables, which will bring together scientists, professional actors and associations.

This symposium will be based on field experiments and the results of scientific projects funded by the Ministry of the Environment under the "Acidification of the Oceans" programme.

Second Mediterranean Congress of Biotechnology - MCB 2

 

The Second Mediterranean Congress of Biotechnology will be held in Yasmine Hammamet from 16 to 20 March 2019.

GreenEdge and the Gordon Conference

Shedding Light on the Physical, Biogeochemical and Human Dimensions of Connectivity in Changing Polar Seas

As mentioned in an email this summer, we would like to hold the upcoming GreenEdge annual science meeting as side meeting to the Gordon Research Conference on Polar marine science in Tuscany (Italy) from 17-22 March 2019.

European Conference "Protect our Oceans": The Participant's Workbook

On 16 June 2021, Aix-Marseille Université EU Office in Brussels organised a European Conference entitled "Protect our Oceans", the challenge of Europe's global leadership' under the scientific coordination of Dr. RIchard Sempéré.

The high patronage of the event was undertaken by MEP Maria Da Graça Carvalho.

Mapping project

On 7 and 8 July, aboard two zodiacs and the Anthédon, our Toulon colleagues from CEM/EMBIO carried out manoeuvres and took samples in the Rade de Toulon in order to obtain a "photo" of the surface contamination. The results of the MAPPING project will be presented at the end of the year. MIO contact: Stéphane Mounier (CEM)

Post-cruise meeting TONGA

The TONGA post-cruise meeting took place in Villefranche sur mer on 30 June and 1 July. It brought together between 50 and 60 participants from 15 international laboratories, 50% face-to-face, 50% virtual.

 

Exciting results will be published in a SPECIAL ISSUE which will be open in mid 2022.

En savoir plus

Become a player in the scientific project BiodivAquArt, aquatic biodiversity in art!

Our MIO colleagues, Thomas Changeux and Thomas Richard (EMBIO) are strongly involved in this project

During a visit to the museum, did you come across a work of art containing an aquatic animal? Share your discoveries online and contribute to the progress of this original study in historical ecology carried out by staff from the Mediterranean Institute of Oceanology (MIO) and the laboratory Temps, Espaces, Langages, Europe méridionale, Méditerranée (TELEMMe)!

The Mediterranean Institute of Oceanology renews its observation devices in Friuli

The City of Marseille has approved the renewal of the precarious occupation agreement of the Institut Méditerranéen d'Océanologie (MIO) which, through atmospheric fallout collectors installed on the island of Frioul, ensures a mission of observation of the terrestrial and marine environment.

Press Conference : Monitoring the Coastline

Small in size - it occupies less than 1% of the world's maritime surface - the Mediterranean is subject to intense human activity.

To measure the impacts of this cohabitation, it is carefully monitored for chemical contamination, spearheaded by the Rhone-Mediterranean-Corsica Water Agency and Ifremer for the French coast.

Acidification des océans : conséquences sur les écosystèmes et les activités humaines

Qu’est-ce que l’acidification des océans? Quelles en seront les conséquences potentielles sur les activités économiques? Comment réagir? Telles sont les questions qui seront abordées lors des tables rondes et qui rassembleront scientifiques, acteurs professionnels et associations.

Ce colloque s’appuiera sur les expériences de terrain et sur les résultats des projets scientifiques financés par le ministère chargé de l’environnement dans le cadre du programme "Acidification des océans".

Second Congrès Méditerranéen de Biotechnologie - MCB 2

 

Le Deuxième Congrès Méditerranéen de Biotechnologie se tiendra à Yasmine Hammamet du 16 au 20 mars 2019.

Mistrals : Ecole de printemps 2019 - Modèles climatiques et méthodes de changement d’échelle pour les études d’impacts du changement climatique

École de printemps sur les modèles climatiques et méthodes de changement d’échelle pour les études d’impacts du changement climatique
Banyuls sur Mer, 1-5 avril 2019

GreenEdge and the Gordon Conference

Shedding Light on the Physical, Biogeochemical and Human Dimensions of Connectivity in Changing Polar Seas

As mentioned in an email this summer, we would like to hold the upcoming GreenEdge annual science meeting as side meeting to the Gordon Research Conference on Polar marine science in Tuscany (Italy) from 17-22 March 2019.

Conférence européenne - Protéger nos océans, l’enjeu du leadership européen dans le monde

Le bureau de représentation d’AMU à Bruxelles a récemment organisé aux côtés de plusieurs laboratoires, dont le MIO, une conférence intitulée « Protéger nos océans, l’enjeu du leadership européen dans le monde ».
Deux sujets majeurs étaient au centre des débats :

Projet Mapping

 Les 7 et 8 juillet derniers, à bord de deux zodiaques et de l'Anthédon, nos collègues toulonnais CEM/EMBIO ont effectué des manips et des prélèvements dans la Rade de Toulon afin d'obtenir une "photo" de la contamination de surface. Les résultats du projet MAPPING seront présentés à la fin de l'année. Contact MIO : Stéphane Mounier (CEM)

Post-cruise meeting TONGA

Le post-cruise meeting TONGA s’est déroulé à Villefranche sur mer les 30 juin et 1er juillet derniers. Il a réuni entre 50 et 60 participants de 15 laboratoires internationaux, 50% en présentiel, 50% en virtuel.

 

Des résultats passionnants qui seront publiés dans une SPECIAL ISSUE qui sera ouverte mi 2022.

En savoir plus

Devenez acteur du projet scientifique BiodivAquArt, la biodiversité aquatique dans l’art !

Nos collègues du MIO, Thomas Changeux et Thomas Richard (EMBIO) sont fortement impliqués dans ce projet

Lors d’une visite au musée vous êtes témoin d’une œuvre d’art contenant un animal aquatique ? Partagez vos découvertes en ligne et contribuez à faire avancer cette étude originale en écologie historique portés par des personnels de l’Institut méditerranéen d’océanologie (MIO) et du laboratoire Temps, Espaces, Langages, Europe méridionale, Méditerranée (TELEMMe) !

L’Institut Méditerranéen d’Océanologie renouvelle ses dispositifs d’observation au Frioul

La Ville de Marseille a approuvé le renouvellement de la convention d’occupation précaire de l’Institut Méditerranéen d’Océanologie (MIO) qui, par le biais de collecteurs de retombées atmosphériques installés sur l’île du Frioul, assure une mission d’observation du milieu terrestre et marin.

Depuis 2006, le centre d’Océanologie de Marseille (COM) devenu l’Institut Méditerranéen d’Océanologie (MIO) s’occupe de collecteurs de retombées atmosphériques installés sur le sémaphore de Pomègues de l’île du Frioul, grâce à une convention d’occupation précaire gratuite.

Conférence de presse Surveiller Le Littoral

Petite par la taille – elle occupe moins de 1 % de la surface maritime du globe - la Méditerranée, est soumise à une activité humaine intense.

Pour mesurer les impacts liés à cette cohabitation, elle fait l’objet d’une surveillance attentive de sa contamination chimique, dont l’Agence de l’eau Rhône Méditerranée Corse et l’Ifremer sont les fers de lance pour la façade française.